Virtual Round Table Conference 25-27 March 2011

Well, Pio has been busy in both real life and SL. This time she's getting ready to participate in the Virtual Round Table Conference. She was kindly invited by the organizers to join them and present on one of her projects in SL. She'll be presenting about NANEC 2010/11. I'll take 30 minutes and Dolors Capdet, NANEC's creator will try to join her. Real life matters might have her busy there. Well, this is the program we got from Gwen.
 
Virtual Round Table Conference
25-27 March 2011

The Virtual Round Table Conference is a 3-day conference on language learning technologies and takes place both in Adobe ConnectPro (virtual classroom) and Second Life (virtual world).

The following sessions listed are the Second Life sessions. There are a total of 8 sessions taking place in SL and another 30 sessions in Adobe.

For all sessions please navigate to...

PROGRAM
http://www.virtual-round-table.com/page/program-2

SCHEDULE
http://www.virtual-round-table.com/events

***********************************************************
Friday, 25 March 2011
***********************************************************
Friday, 25 March 2011 - 3:30pm GMT | 8:30am PDT (SL time)
World Time http://tinyurl.com/25March330pmGMT .. that'll be 11:00 am in Venezuela.

Slur: http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/EduNation/109/158/25

Shiv Rajendran: Beyond Simulation & Role play
http://www.virtual-round-table.com/events/beyond-simulation-role-play 

Virtual Worlds are considered an effective tool for role-play and simulation scenarios, providing a rich context in which to set activities. When students form real relationships, have real interactions, experience real emotions and really socialize, can the experience still be described as “simulation”? This presentation describes how virtual worlds can go beyond simple simulations and role-play, achieving a deeper level of engagement and immersion by using massive exposure to the target language with continuous feedback to achieve faster learning. 

About Shiv Rajendran
Shiv (www.shv.me) co-founded Languagelab.com in 2005 -- the oldest and largest virtual world languages school, with students in more than 70 different countries. Shiv has a Master’s degree in Digital Culture and Technology, a background using technology for a variety of purposes, and is a life-long gamer.

Pio will be attending this one, since Roleplaying is part of her research and interest her the most. From her experience roleplaying in medieval fantasy worlds, Roleplayig is not just pretending anymore.  It becomes as Shiv says " a deeper level of engagement and immersion by using massive exposure to the target language with continuous feedback to achieve faster learning". Well, not only faster learning but also a more natural learning that occurs with the support of a community of practice.

***********************************************************
Friday, 25 March 2011 - 4pm GMT | 9am PDT (SL time)
World Time http://tinyurl.com/25March4pmGMT ----  11:30 am Venezuelan time

Slur: http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/EduNation/109/158/25

Inger-Marie F. Christensen: EU funded AVATAR Project
http://www.virtual-round-table.com/events/avatar-added-value-of-teaching

***********************************************************
Friday, 25 March 2011 – 4:30pm GMT | 9:30am PDT (SL time)
World Time http://tinyurl.com/25March430pmGMT
Meeting place

Slur: http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/EduNation/109/158/25

Amparo Cervantes: Macchu Pichu Tour in SL
http://www.virtual-round-table.com/events/machu-picchu-tour-in-second

***********************************************************
Saturday, 26 March 2011
***********************************************************
Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 9:30am GMT | 2:30am PDT (SL time)
World Time http://tinyurl.com/26March930amGMT

http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Arcachon/219/229/26

Helen Myer aka Karelia Kondor and Edith Paillat aka Cyber Placebo: Arcachon
http://www.virtual-round-table.com/events/lecons-de-francais-a-arcachon

***********************************************************
Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 10:30am GMT | 3:30am PDT (SL time)
World Time http://tinyurl.com/26March1030amGMT

Dr. Doris Molero aka Pionia Destiny: NANEC
http://www.virtual-round-table.com/events/nanec-1

Slur: http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/EduNation/109/158/25

***********************************************************
Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 11:30am GMT | 4:30am PDT (SL time)
World Time http://tinyurl.com/26March1130amGMT

Shamblesguru: QR Codes in Teaching and Learning
http://www.virtual-round-table.com/events/qr-codes-in-teaching-and

Slur: http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/EduNation/109/158/25

***********************************************************
Saturday, 26 March 2011- 3:30pm GMT | 8:30am PDT (SL time)
World Time http://tinyurl.com/26March330pmGMT

http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Fabulous/142/124/22

Kavon Zenovka: Virtual World Best Practise in Education Conference
Tour and Summary
http://www.virtual-round-table.com/events/vwbpe-virtual-world-best

***********************************************************
Saturday, 26 March 2011 – 4:30pm GMT | 9:30am PDT (SL time)
World Time http://tinyurl.com/26March430pmGMT

http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/EduNation/93/91/24

Shelly Terrell: Second Life Poster Exhibition Tour
http://www.virtual-round-table.com/events/poster-exhibition-tour

***********************************************************
Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 11pm GMT | 4pm PDT (SL time)

http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife//103/92/21

Partytime!
***********************************************************

All of the Second Life sessions will be screenshared and recorded in the
following Adobe ConnectPro room:
http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/secondlife

Contact:
Gwen Gwasi [RL Heike Philp]
Carolrb Roux [RL Carol Rainbow]

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Virtual Worlds: Second Life

Second Life MOOC - April 1 - 30, 2014

9th Annual Virtual Worlds Best Practices in Education March 9-12, 2016